Gray Knights alternate paint scheme

I wanted to paint up some Gray Knights to possibly ally up with my Ultramarines in a 40K game. Here’s a short piece on how I came up with my alternate color scheme for the Gray Knights.

GrayKnight-AlternatePaintScheme-EchoesFromTheWarp

The super metallic bright colors on the Games Workshop Gray Knights are not my favorite, somehow I envisioned this secretive chapter to have an older, “relic” ancient look. I looked online for inspiration and liked the way some people create their “ghost knights”. I took my cues from this approach and came up with a nice ancient look I really like.

First off let me say the detail on the plastic models these days is incredible and honestly I prefer plastic model kits over fine-cast anyday. It works easily and gives a very smooth finish, something I struggle with on fine-cast models. Well back to the painthing theme,  most people seem to settle on the metallic base and red accents. Also the norm is to fully paint every single surface and detail on these models, something I wanted to break away from to create a more “atmospheric” look.

Painting steps

So I set out to make a tester of my own. I assembled and based the model as normal, primed it black to start. Secondly I used a gray spraycan to carefully touch the model from the top, giving an illusion of light coming from above. This resulted in a transitional coverage, with the lighter gray at the top and fading to black at the bottom.

Next up I watered down Dwarf Flesh to a translucent thickness, almost like water color paint. I started painting this at the top of the model, layering it on top of the gray highlights. My idea was to have the top of the model look like ancient, once gold armor that has completely dusted and weathered. I deliberately did not use metallic gold paint to keep everything really “old” and “dusty” looking. Towards the bottom of the model I left everything untouched, no brown color added. Thanks to the heavily watered down paint I could achieve a transitional effect by building up the Dwarf Flesh color in layers.

I then used watered down Space Wolves Gray to highlight some of the armor plates, both at the top of the model as well as towards the bottom. Armored models like marines really need at least some basic edge highlighting to “read” well. Now that the base was ready I highlighted the “faux-gold” armor further with some bone color. I painted the inscriptions on the armor real gold, and washed everything (only) at the top of the model with Agrax Earthshade to add some more depth. This tied everything nicely together. Lastly I added some Hoeth Blue accents to the gun casing, helmet and shoulder piece. The power glaive was done with Wildrider orange.

Conclusion

Well I kinda like how it turned out! Admittedly, it feels kinda weird to not paint every single detail in such a fantastic miniature. But the atmosphere is great, they are fun and simple to do and it gives a refreshing look on the tabletop. What are your thoughts? Leave a shout in the comment section!

cheers,

Chris

Leave a Reply

