Playing Warhammer Fantasy for the first time in ages

Its no secret I like painting and modeling the most of the Warhammer hobby, but recently I got back in touch with some old friends who I played AD&D and Warhammer with some 15 years ago. It sparked some serious nostalgia and we all loved getting back into playing Fantasy again…

Warhammer Fantasy battle skaven vs chaos

Well long story short we had a lot of fun. Admitted, it was quite a struggle coming to grips with the rules again. On paper it looks simple until the game rolls and you run into a myriad of exceptions. Combined with the special rules of the armies themselves we were a bit lost trying to keep track of everything from Frenzy, Terror, Leadership effects, Fleeing units and whatnot so we ended up having to guess and skip a lot of stuff to keep the game going.

We started with a small battle of 800 points each to be able to focus on the basic rules and maybe do a few battles. We ended up needing 4 hours getting 1 battle done haha. I started off great in Skaven style, pulling off the Dreaded 13th Spell, turning one unit of my opponent’s Chaos Knights into rats. Once in close combat I started suffering heavy casualties as expected. Thanks to my large blocks of slaves I managed to lock elite Chaos units in combat while racing around with my Doomwheel, Zzzzapping the Deamon Prince and Chaos Chariots and Spawns. In the end it was a miraculous roll of sixes by one of my Skaven slaves that fell the Deamon Prince but the game ended in a draw.

 

We had some good laughs and only having played 40K I really liked my first Warhammer Fantasy game. The amount of rules is always a bit offputting, but that hopefully fades with playing more frequently. Got something to say? Leave a shout in the comments!

cheers,

Chris

 

 

2 thoughts on “Playing Warhammer Fantasy for the first time in ages

    • Hi Phil

      I am currently having a little break from the hobby. Mainly due a busy family/company life.
      What tutorials would you like to see? If you have some specific ideas I am happy to paint and post 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

