Tomb Kings army progress

TombKings-Chariot2-chrisvanderlindenI’ve worked on my new Tomb Kings army for an afternoon. Assembling all the skeletons is quite time consuming, so I also did a few Chariots and Necropolis Knights on the side to keep things fun. I’m having a blast knocking out this new army. Some of the skeleton models and especially the horses are mega dated but still. Nothing beats a good old undead horde! Here’s a quick update of what I’ve got going so far…

TombKing-Archers-Assembly Life Hack1Right now I am almost finished assembling, basing and priming the Batallion box. I also had another box of Skeleton Warriors lying around so I’m counting 60 footsoldiers now, 3 Chariots, 6 Horsemen. In addition I’m building my first 3 Necropolis Knights and a unit of Tomb Guards. The Necropolis Knights is quite an expensive kit but I must say the quality is high and a pleasure to assemble. You gotta give GW some credit for continually improving their model quality, albeit being increasingly heavy on the wallet.

TombKings-Chariot1-chrisvanderlinden

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve started using Blackfire Earth texture paint to do the bases, after which I prime everything with the Mournfang Brown spraypaint. Its quick and easy to work with. I prefer this now over the traditional basing with fine sand, which seems to be too course still for its scale.

While leaving some minis to dry, I batch painted some others, starting with that 3-stage lighting effect. After some models I notice its still improving, especially on models such as the Tomb Guard it really looks nice, like slivers of sun light piercing through, scattering on the characters. Dusty, desert? Yeah 🙂 Now I can’t wait to go back and put in those finishing details such as gold and blue. The effect is hard to capture on camera, if you have a skeleton to spare give this painting scheme a spin and see for yourself how it looks on the table!

TomGuard-Shading

2 thoughts on “Tomb Kings army progress

Leave a Reply

