Dwarf Longbeards for Fun

DwarfsChrisvanderLindenI wanted to assemble and paint something different from Tomb Kings and Skaven, so I purchased a box of Dwarf Hammerers/Longbeards. I must say they are incredibly detailed and were a joy to assemble. My only critique would be that the poses are really lockstep, they could do with some more variation. Because our group already has a fanatic Dwarf player, I opted to do them in a different style, on snow bases, to set them apart from his army. I can imagine these making a perfect allied (or group for hire) kind of unit in one of our linked story campaigns.

Dwarf longbeards silver primer

 

The colors used:

  • Silver primer
  • Nuln Oil wash
  • Golds + Agrax Earthshade wash
  • Sotek Green + Hoeth Blue + Spacewolves Gray for the blue parts (Finished with Asurmen Blue wash)
  • Faces and Beards in various browns, used Agrax wash again for shading

I must say I totally enjoyed painting these guys. I remember the Dwarfs from way back in the early days of Warhammer but never really gave them a proper look. Now I’m tempted to buy and paint some more because they allow for a lot of bold colors and they are really characterful. These were painted in one evening and an afternoon, a decent look without spending a huge amount of time. I spraypainted them silver entirely and applied a wash to get all the armor done in one go. I read this tip somewhere online which works well for these guys. Then it was a matter of picking out the faces, beards and shield decorations. All in all a very fun unit to paint. Oh… and yes I’ll fix that top of the banner pole too. Didn’t notice that part was missing until I was done 🙂

Leave a comment